SIT40416 Certificate IV in Hospitality

Course Overview

  • Qualification Code and Name

    SIT40416 – Certificate IV in Hospitality

  • Duration

    up to 26 weeks with term break of 2 weeks.

  • Fee

    AUD 4000.00 (includes tuition fees of $3750 and application fees of $250.00)

  • Delivery Mode

    Blended Delivery (RPL and gap training along with Self-directed learning)

  • Qualification Description

    This qualification reflects the role of skilled operators who use a broad range of hospitality service, sales or operational skills combined with supervisory skills and sound knowledge of industry operations to plan, monitor and evaluate the work of team members. They operate independently or with limited guidance from others and use discretion to solve non-routine problems.

    This qualification provides a pathway to work as a supervisor in hospitality organisations such as restaurants, hotels, motels, clubs, pubs, cafés, and coffee shops. This qualification allows for multi-skilling and for specialisation in accommodation services, food and beverage, and gaming.

    Possible job titles include:

    • bar supervisor or team leader
    • concierge
    • duty manager
    • food and beverage supervisor or team leader
    • front office supervisor or team leader
    • housekeeping supervisor or team leader
    • gaming supervisor or team leader
    • shift manager.
  • Target Clients


    Domestic students who are:

    • Existing Workers in the Hospitality Industry.
  • Course Units

    Core Units
    BSBDIV501 Manage diversity in the workplace
    SITHIND004 Work effectively in hospitality service
    SITXCCS007 Enhance customer service experiences
    SITXCOM005 Manage conflict
    SITXFIN003 Manage finances within a budget
    SITXHRM001 Coach others in job skills
    SITXHRM003 Lead and manage people
    SITXMGT001 Monitor work operations
    SITXWHS003 Implement and monitor work health and safety practices
    Elective Units
    SITHIND001 Use hygienic practices for hospitality service
    BSBSUS401 Implement and monitor environmentally sustainable work practices
    BSBFIA401 Prepare financial reports
    SITXFSA001 Use hygienic practices for food safety
    SITXHRM002 Roster staff
    SITHIND002 Source and use information on the hospitality industry
    SITXFSA002 Participate in safe food handling practices
    SITXWHS002 Identify hazards, assess and control safety risks
    SITHFAB016 Provide advice on food
    SITXINV003 Purchase Goods
    SITHFAB014 Provide table service of food and beverage
    BSBITU306 Design and produce business documents
  • Study Load

    Study Load:

    In case of gap training identified, Training and assessment will be conducted 20 hours per week at the student’s workplace and students are expected to spend the allocated SDL hours for each unit.

  • Delivery Location

    Training and assessment will be conducted by Sherwood Institute of Australia (SIA) at students’ own workplace. SIA expects the full cooperation of the workplace management staff during the course delivery at the workplace.

  • Entry Requirements

    There are no specific entry requirements are for this course.

    However, Sherwood Institute has got its own admission requirements:

    • Entry into this course requires successful completion of an Australian Year 12 qualification or equivalent. However, selection is not based purely on academic performance. Relevant work experience, work samples and other documentation submitted will also be considered.
    • In addition to meeting the academic requirements applicants must demonstrate their competence in literacy and numeracy levels when enrolling into the course. ACSF exit levels 3 are required for enrolment into this course.
    • All students must be of the age 18 years or over at the time of the scheduled course commencement.
  • Pathways

    Pathway from The Qualification

    After achieving SIT40416 Certificate IV in Hospitality, you could progress to SIT50416 Diploma of Hospitality Management and then SIT60316 Advanced Diploma of Hospitality Management.

  • Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) and Credit Transfer (CT)

    Recognition of Prior Learning

    Recognition of prior learning (RPL) is an assessment process that involves assessment of an individual’s relevant prior learning (including formal, informal and non-formal learning) to determine the credit outcomes of an individual application for credit.


    Credit Transfer

    Credit transfer is a process that provides students with agreed and consistent credit outcomes for components of a qualification based on identified equivalence in content and learning outcomes between matched qualifications.


    You could be granted RPL or CT full or part qualification based on your existing skills, knowledge and experience. Please contact us to find out if you’re a candidate for RPL or CT.